19.1 C
New York

Shabbir poised to win Defence Raya Open Golf


LAHORE – Shabbir Iqbal of Islamabad is again in a position to prevail over his fellow competitors in the inaugural four-day Defence Raya Open Professional Golf Championship 2021 that carries a prize money package of Rs 5 million. 

At the end of the third round (54 holes) on Sunday here at the par 72 Defence Raya Golf Course, Shabbir is in the lead with three-round scores of 70, 67 and 70 with an aggregate total of gross 207, nine under par. Shabbir’s nearest combatant Talat Ijaz of Lahore Gymkhana is placed at a three-round aggregate score of 213, six strokes behind the leader. At an aggregate score of 215 is M Shahzad of Lahore Garrison and at 217 is Aadil Jehangir (PAF Skyview). 

In the third round on Sunday, Shabbir had six birdies, nine pars, two bogies and one double bogie in his third round of gross 70. Talat Ijaz came up with the best score of the third round, a gross 67 and that hoisted his position to No 2 on the leaderboard. Lahore Garrison M Shahzad’s third round score of gross 68 was classy and with three days aggregate score of 215, he is placed third. Aadil Jehangir made a purposeful effort but putting hicups on two holes let him down. With a third round score of 74, he has an aggregate of 217 and is placed fourth. 

Other notable ones in line for good prize money are Ashiq Hussain (Multan) at 219, M Alam (PAF) at 221, M Munir (Rawalpindi) also at 221, and M Naqas (Islamabad), Matloob Ahmed (Garrison), Wisal Khan (Peshawar) and Taimoor Khan (Peshawar) all four at 222. 

The junior professionals went through their first round on Sunday and after the first round, M Saqib (Garrison) is the leader with a score of gross 75. In second position is Nabeel Khan of Airmen Golf Club and his score is gross 81. Today (Monday) is the final day of the event and the winners will be handed over lucrative prize money. 

Denial of responsibility! - If you are a regular visitor then ignore this...
Read Full Details

**If you have any Query Related This Post then here is the Source Link**

Related articles

Recent articles