22.1 C
New York

Rahul on top of the mix : The Tribune India


New Delhi, August 11

Senior opener KL Rahul shall be main the Indian crew in the three-match ODI sequence in Zimbabwe after being declared match by the BCCI medical crew.

Shikhar Dhawan, who was named the captain initially, will now be Rahul’s deputy. Rahul was recovering from a sports activities hernia surgical procedure and was imagined to play the West Indies sequence earlier than testing constructive for Covid-19.

Since his restoration was taking time, he was not initially chosen for the Zimbabwe tour and given time to get absolutely match earlier than the all-important Asia Cup. However, the medical crew has now given an all-clear after the requisite health exams.

Since he’s the all-format first-choice deputy to common skipper Rohit Sharma, his availability meant that Dhawan was relegated to vice-captaincy for the sequence.

Rahul’s addition took the squad power to 16 as the selectors didn’t substitute any participant. But Rahul’s presence means that there’s just about no probability for Ruturaj Gaikwad to get a recreation on this sequence.

There shall be no Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant, Shreyas Iyer, Jasprit Bumrah or Mohammed Shami for this sequence as they’ve all been rested. Bumrah, nevertheless, is nursing a again damage and is already dominated out of the Asia Cup in the UAE, beginning August 27. Rahul and Deepak Hooda are the solely two gamers in the predominant squad. — PTI

Chakabva to guide Zimbabwe

Harare: Batter Regis Chakabva will lead a 17-member Zimbabwe squad in the three-match ODI sequence towards India. The matches shall be performed at the Harare Sports Club. The second and third matches are scheduled for August 20 and 22, respectively. “Chakabva will lead the home side in the absence of regular captain Craig Ervine who is still nursing a left hamstring tear,” Zimbabwe Cricket mentioned in a press release. Zimbabwe may also be with out Blessing Muzarabani, Tendai Chatara and Wellington Masakadza who’re recuperating from thigh muscle tear, collarbone fracture and shoulder tendon accidents, respectively. pti

India squad

KL Rahul (captain) Shikhar Dhawan (vice-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Sanju Samson (wicketkeeper), Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohd Siraj, Deepak Chahar.

“Thankyou www.tribuneindia.com For Providing This News.”

Related articles

Recent articles