Thursday, January 13, 2022
HomeTop StoriesPakistan beat India in WC T20 opener, make history

Pakistan beat India in WC T20 opener, make history

Published on

| Babar, Rizwan star as Green shirts break India jinx with 10-wicket rout | President, PM, CJCSC, COAS congratulate cricket team over victory against India

DUBAI   –  Pakistan made the world cup history after defeating arch-rival India by 10 wickets in the blockbuster match of the T20 World Cup played here at jam-packed Dubai International Cricket Stadium. 

Pakistan’s victory against India was the first ever win by the men in green in the world cup history as earlier, they were 0-5 down against the arch-rivals. Chasing the decent target of 152 runs, Pakistan openers Babar Azam and Muhammad Rizwan established a firm partnership throughout the second innings as they smoothly chased the target to clinch a victory for team green.

The duo of Babar Azam and Muhammad Rizwan, reached the milestone during the ICC T20 World Cup match against the arch-rivals in Dubai. They broke the nine-year-old record set by Muhammad Hafeez and Shoaib Malik when they scored 106 runs for the 4th wicket in 2012 at Bangalore.

Meanwhile, Rizwan also completed 1,500 T20 runs in the ongoing calendar year. He is the second Pakistani after Babar Azam to score 1,500 runs in a calendar year. The duo also posted the highest ever partnership for any wicket by any team against India in T20Is surpassing 133 by David Warner and Shane Watson.

Shaheen Shah Afridi was no doubt player of the match for his brilliant bowling which helped Pakistan restrict the opponents to 151/7 in allotted 20 overs. In a stunning display, Shaheen Afridi sent Virat Kohli, who took charge of India’s resurgence, off for 57 runs in turn claiming the sixth and crucial wicket for Pakistan. Pakistan’s fifth dismissal was through Hasan Ali who sent Ravindra Jadeja back to the pavilion.

Earlier Rishabh Pant was dismissed for 39 runs after Shahdab Khan caught the batsman’s delivery. Hasan Ali claimed India’s third wicket, dismissing Suryakumar Yadav, to give the Men in Green a head start. Shaheen Afridi struck early to claim two wickets for Pakistan against arch-rival India in the Super 12 match of the T20 World Cup on Sunday.

The Pakistani pacer sent opener Rohit Sharma back to the pavilion after he managed to score only one run. He was replaced by skipper Virat Kohli. Afridi claimed another wicket of K Rahul as he departed for just three runs. Suryakumar Yadav replaced Rahul in the ground.




KL Rahul b Shaheen Afridi             3

Rohit Sharma lbw b Shaheen         0

Virat Kohli c Rizwan b Shaheen    57

S Yadav c Rizwan b Hasan Ali       11

Rishabh Pant c & b Shadab Khan  39

R Jadeja c sub b Hasan Ali              13

H Pandya c Babar b Haris Rauf     11

Bhuvneshwar Kumar not out        5

Mohammed Shami not out             0

EXTRAS: (b6, lb1, nb1, w4)           12

TOTAL: (7 wkts, 20 overs)            151


Shaheen Shah Afridi 4-0-31-3, Imad Wasim 2-0-10-0, Hasan Ali 4-0-44-2, Shadab Khan 4-0-22-1, Mohammad Hafeez 2-0-12-0, Haris Rauf 4-0-25-1.


Mohammad Rizwan not out   –  79

Babar Azam not out     –   68

EXTRAS: (lb1, w4)      –   5

TOTAL: (no loss, 17.5 overs)    – 152

BOWLING: Bhuvneshwar Kumar 3-0-25-0,

Mohammed Shami 3.5-0-43-0,

Jasprit Bumrah 3-0-22-0,

Varun Chakravarthy 4-0-33-0,

Ravindra Jadeja4-0-28-0.

TOSS: Pakistan

UMPIRES: C Gaffaney, M Erasmus

TV UMPIRE: Richard Illingworth


President Dr Arif Alvi Sunday congratulated Pakistan cricket team over their 10 wicket victory against India in the T20 World Cup match in Dubai.

In a tweet on social media platform Twitter, he said, “Congratulations Green Shirts. Total Wipeout. A win by 10 wickets. You make us proud. A good match. Tremendous batting by Mohammad Rizwan and Babar Azam. What a pleasure to see total dominance. Going towards a good ending.”

Prime Minister Imran Khan also congratulated Pakistan cricket team for clinching ten wicket victory against India in the T20 World Cup in Dubai.

In a tweet on social media platform Twitter, he said, “Congratulations to the Pakistan Team & esp to Babar Azam who led from the front, as well as to the brilliant performances of Rizwan & Shaheen Afridi. The nation is proud of you all.”

Chief of Army Staff (COAS) General Qamar Javed Bajwa also congratulated Pakistan cricket team for “outstanding performance and comprehensive win against India in ICC T 20 World Cup Match.”

“Pakistan Cricket Team has made us all proud,” DG ISPR Major General Babar Iftikhar quoted COAS as saying in a tweet he posted soon after the victory against India. Also, CJCSC & Services Chiefs congratulate Pakistan Cricket Team for historic win against India in ICC T20 World Cup.

**If you have any Query Related This Post then here is the Source Link**


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Most Popular