31.9 C
New York

IPL 2022: Punjab Kings Factbox, the perennial wooden spooners


IPL titles: 0

Punjab Kings, rechristened as Punjab Kings from this 12 months haven’t received a single IPL title in 13 makes an attempt. They got here shut in 2014 the place that they had a improbable run, ending at the prime of the desk however misplaced to Kolkata Knight Riders in the remaining in Bengaluru. They haven’t made it out of the group stage for 12 out of the 14 seasons.

Here’s how they’ve fared 12 months on 12 months

How did they fare the earlier season: They have achieved some kind of consistency however one which they would not need to be happy with. For the final three seasons, they’ve persistently completed sixth. It was one other disappointing marketing campaign in IPL 2021 for Punjab Kings as they did not make it to the playoffs and ended sixth on the desk. They received simply six out of their 14 matches, ending with 12 factors.

Win Percentage: Punjab Kings have the second-worst win proportion (for groups to have performed 100 matches or extra) at 45.58, profitable 91 of their 204 matches and shedding 109.

Highest Run-getter: KL Rahul

KL Rahul who began off his PBKS profession in 2018 has been the highest run-getter for the franchise with 2548 runs from 55 innings at 56.62. He scored two tons of and 23 fifties in his four-year PBKS profession and possessed a SR of 139.76. He determined to depart the franchise at the finish of IPL 2021 and joined Lucknow Super Giants the place he will likely be main the new franchise.

Among the present crop, Mayank Agarwal, who will likely be main the PBKS facet this season, leads the charts with 1317 runs from 47 innings at a median of 29.26 and a strike fee of 144.24. He’s hit one century and eight fifties.

Highest wicket-taker: Piyush Chawla

Piyush Chawla has been slowly going about his enterprise accumulating wickets for his franchises. He’s the highest wicket-taker for Punjab Kings with 84 wickets from 87 innings at 26.63. He possessed an economic system fee of seven.52 and a strike fee of 21.2 and had one four-wicket haul.

Among the present crop, Sandeep Sharma, who began his IPL profession with Punjab, is the highest wicket-taker with 71 wickets from 56 innings at 22.35. He has an economic system fee of seven.77 and a strike fee of 17.2. He shifted to SRH after 2017 and was purchased again by Punjab in the IPL 2022 public sale for 50 lakh.

Highest particular person rating: KL Rahul 132 not out vs RCB at Dubai in 2020

Rahul hit a whirlwind 132 off 69 balls hammering 14 fours and 7 sixes in opposition to RCB at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium in 2020. Punjab Kings posted 206/3. In Answer, RCB had been bundled out for 109.

Highest crew rating: 232 vs RCB at Dharamsala

Adam Gilchrist led the means with 106 off 55 balls hitting eight fours and 9 sixes and was ably supported by Shaun Marsh (79 off 49 balls) as Punjab Kings posted 232/2 at Dharamsala in 2011. RCB succumbed to 121 all out, shedding by 111 runs.

Favourite opponent: Deccan Chargers

Punjab Kings have had the most success in opposition to Deccan Chargers (For groups in opposition to whom PKS has performed 10 or extra matches). They had a win proportion of 70 % with 7 wins from 10 matches and simply 3 losses. They have received the most in opposition to Delhi Capitals, profitable in 15 out of 26 matches with a win proportion of 59.61.

Bogey crew: Sunrisers Hyderabad

Punjab Kings have misplaced 66.67 % of their matches in opposition to SRH. Their worst in opposition to any crew (For groups in opposition to whom PKS have performed 10 or extra matches). They have misplaced 12 of the 18 video games performed and received simply six.

When they performed in the UAE: They went rampant profitable all the 5 matches of the UAE leg in 2014. All of them had been comfy victories and it completed as their finest season as they reached finals for the first time however could not cross the end line, shedding to KKR in a thriller. However, they did not have the better of time six years later as they completed sixth in the 2020 IPL.

It wasn’t any higher in 2021 IPL as they received simply three of the seven matches of the UAE leg, ending sixth in the factors desk.

Lesser identified information:

– Punjab Kings have conceded the joint-most hat-tricks (together with Mumbai Indians) in the IPL – 3: Lakshmipathy Balaji (CSK) in 2008, Amit Mishra (Deccan Chargers) in 2011, Sunil Narine (KKR) in 2013

– Punjab Kings have additionally taken joint-most hat-tricks in the IPL together with RR: Yuvraj Singh vs RCB in 2009, Yuvraj Singh vs Deccan Chargers in 2009, Axar Patel vs Gujarat Lions in 2016, and Sam Curran vs Delhi Capitals in 2019.

– Piyush Chawla took 23 wickets from 26 matches at a strike fee of 24.26 at PCA IS Bindra Stadium in IPL – the most by a Punjab Kings participant at any venue in IPL.

– Shaun Marsh amassed 1064 runs from 27 innings at a median of 44.33 and a strike fee of 130.23 in IPL – the most by a Punjab Kings participant at any venue in IPL.

– Former Punjab Kings captain KL Rahul holds the file of scoring the quickest fifty in the event. He did it whereas taking part in for Punjab Kings in simply 12 balls in opposition to DC at IS Bindra Stadium in 2018.

Purchases, releases and squad

IPL 2020 auctions gamers purchased: Jhye Richardson, Shahrukh Khan, Dawid Malan, Riley Meredith, Moises Henriques, Jalaj Saxena, Utkarsh Singh, Fabian Allen, Saurabh Kumar

IPL 2020 gamers traded in: None

IPL 2020 Retained gamers: KL Rahul, Arshdeep Singh, Chris Gayle, Darshan Nalkande, Harpreet Brar, Mandeep Singh, Mayank Agarwal, Mohd. Shami, M Ashwin, Nicholas Pooran, Sarfaraz Khan, Deepak Hooda, Ishan Porel, Ravi Bishnoi, Chris Jordan, Prabhsimran Singh

Released gamers: Glenn Maxwell, Sheldon Cottrell, Mujeeb Zadran, Hardus Viljoen, James Neesham, Krishnappa Gowtham, Karun Nair, Jagadeesha Suchith, Tejinder Singh Dhillon.

Full squad:

KL Rahul (c&wk), Mayank Agarwal, Chris Gayle, Mandeep Singh, Prabsimran Singh, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Sarfaraz Khan, Deepak Hooda, Murugan Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Harpreet Brar, Mohammed Shami, Arshdeep Singh, Ishan Porel, Darshan Nalkande, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Jhye Richardson, Shahrukh Khan, Riley Meredith, Moises Henriques, Jalaj Saxena, Utkarsh Singh, Fabian Allen, Saurabh Kumar.

Click here to read Factboxes of all teams

Click here to follow comprehensive coverage of IPL 2022

Denial of responsibility! - If you are a regular visitor then ignore this...
Read Full Details

**If you may have any Query Related This Post then right here is the Source Link**

Related articles

Recent articles