19.5 C
New York

IND Vs AUS 2nd T20I Nagpur Pitch India Fails To Chase 127 Run Target Against New Zealand Six Years Ago


IND vs AUS 2nd T20I: Teams of India and Australia (IND vs AUS) will be face to face at the Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium in Nagpur today. The Indian team has played four matches on this ground in the past, in which it has got two wins and two losses. The match took place here on March 15, 2016, so Team India would never want to remember even as a lesson. This was the match, when the Indian team could not even achieve the target of just 127 runs.

Actually, the bowlers get good help on the Nagpur wicket. This help increases further in the second innings. This is the reason that despite the average score of the teams batting first being just 151 here, the team batting later is not able to register a win. In 9 out of 12 T20Is held here, only the team batting first has won.

15 March 2016: New Zealand scored just 126 runs
India and New Zealand were face to face on this ground six and a half years ago. In this match, Kane Williamson won the toss and elected to bat first. New Zealand had a poor start and wickets kept falling back to back from the beginning. Martin Guptill (6) in the first over, Colin Munro (7) returned to the pavilion in the second over. After this, Kane Williamson (8) and Ross Taylor (10) also continued to walk. Here Corey Anderson (34), Luke Ronchi (21) and Mitchell Santner (18) somehow took the Kiwi team past 100. In the allotted 20 overs, New Zealand scored 126 runs for the loss of 7 wickets. Indian spinners took three and fast bowlers took two wickets. Two players were run out and returned to the pavilion.

Team India was reduced to 79 runs
Team India, which came out to achieve this small goal, also had a bad start. Shikhar Dhawan (1) in the first over and Rohit Sharma (5) and Suresh Raina (1) in the third over went on. Yuvraj Singh (4) also returned to the pavilion in the fifth over. The condition was such that Team India had lost 4 wickets on 26 runs. From here Virat Kohli (23) and MS Dhoni (30) gave some support to the team but it was insufficient. Apart from these, all the other batsmen went back to the pavilion after scoring a few runs. In the 19th over itself, Team India was all out for 79 runs. New Zealand spinners Mitchell Santner (4 wickets) and Ish Sodhi (3 wickets) took away the whole air of India’s strong batting with their spin.

Read also…

IND vs AUS 3rd T20I: Fans gathered in Hyderabad to buy tickets, stampede as soon as sales started

IPL 2023: IPL will return to the old format, teams will be able to play on home ground; Women’s IPL also starts from next year

Source: www.abplive.com

Related articles

Recent articles